ISEH 2021 New Investigator Awards

Our society takes great pride in supporting the work of young scientists who submit cutting-edge abstracts for discussion at the ISEH Annual Meeting.

To this end, each year ISEH includes a New Investigator Session in which the Program Committee selects the six highest ranked abstracts to present an oral presentation along with a five minute Q&A. Presenters were reviewed by an anonymous panel of judges on the following criteria: presentation topic, presentation content, Q&A response, and overall presentation. The session awards prizes into two groups – student and postdoctoral fellow, with three prizes being awarded in each category. Congratulations to our 2021 New Investigator Award Winners!


1st Place Prize - Dirk van Bekkum Award
Bianca Ulloa
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA
Definitive Hematopoietic Stem Cells Minimally Contribute to Embryonic Hematopoiesis

2nd Place Prize - T. Ray Bradley Award
Emily Mitchell
Wellcome Sanger Institute, UK
Haematopoietic stem cell clonal dynamics across the human lifespan

3rd Place Prize - Greg Johnson Award
Maria Aivalioti
Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA
PU.1-dependent enhancer decommissioning separates clonal hematopoiesis from malignant transformation

Postdoctoral Fellows

1st Place Prize - Eugene Cronkite Award
Nicole Mende
University of Cambridge, UK
Integrated single cell analysis identifies unique molecular and functional features of extramedullary haematopoiesis in humans

2nd Place Prize - George Brecher Award
Laura Garcia Prat
University Health Network, Canada
TFEB-mediated endo-lysosomal activity controls hematopoietic stem cell fate

3rd Place Prize - Christa-Muller-Sieburg Award
Laure Maneix
Baylor College of Medicine, USA
Cyclophilin A regulates protein phase separation and mitigates hematopoietic stem cell aging


Popular posts from this blog

ISEH 2024 Society Award Winners

Lab Spotlight: Elf Lab

Lab Spotlight: Laurenti Lab