ISEH 2023 Scientific Award Winners

On behalf of the Awards Committee, ISEH would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2023 ISEH Society Scientific Awards, which will be presented at the ISEH 52nd Annual Scientific Meeting.

Donald Metcalf Award Winner – Margaret (“Peggy”) A. Goodell

This year, the 2023 Donald Metcalf Award goes to Dr. Margaret “Peggy” Goodell, who currently serves as the Chair of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, the Vivian L. Smith Chair of Regenerative Medicine, directs and founded the Stem Cells and Regenerative (STaR) Center, and serves as a Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Molecular and Human Genetics, Pediatrics, and Pathology and Immunology at Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Goodell has served as a faculty member at Baylor completing her doctoral training at the University of Cambridge with Andrew Smith and completed postdoctoral fellowships at Whitehead Institute at MIT and Harvard Medical School, under the guidance of Richard C. Mulligan. She was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2019. Dr. Goodell is an internationally recognized leader in the field of hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) biology, and is well known for her discovery and description of novel methodologies to identity long-term and radiation resistant HSC populations capable fully repopulating the adult bone marrow. Her recent work describing the Epigenetic regulation of stem cell has continued her record of performing and publishing science of the highest quality. Her work is cited by innumerable scientists to isolate and study normal and cancer stem cells.

Dr. Goodell is an active member of editorial board of Aging and Cancer and Cancer Cell, a past President of ISEH, and has received numerous awards for her professional service and scientific achievement. A mainstay at Baylor college of Medicine for the past 25 years, Dr. Goodell is a paragon within the field of HSC biology and exactly the type of outstanding scientist meant to be honored by the Donald Metcalf award.

McCulloch and Till Award Winner – Daniel Starczynowski

This year’s recipient of the McCulloch and Till Award is Dr. Daniel Starczynowski. Dr. Starczynowski has made seminal contributions to our understanding of how alterations in innate immune signaling and inflammation drive the development of myeloid neoplasms such as myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS). Currently based at the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Dr. Starczynowski earned his PhD in molecular biology from Boston University under the supervision of Dr. Thomas Gilmore. While in the Gilmore Lab, Dr. Starczynowski studied the role of NF-kB in lymphomagenesis. His postdoctoral years were spent in the laboratory of Dr. Aly Karsan at the BC Cancer Research Centre at the University of British Columbia where he worked on identifying and characterizing novel candidate genes important to the development of MDS and acute myeloid leukemia. His current research interests focus on understanding how genetic changes and altered immune-related pathways play into the development of these cancers while seeking novel therapeutic strategies.

In addition to being an active member of the ISEH community, Dr. Starczynowski serves in a number of leadership roles including as the Co-Leader of the Hematologic Malignancies Program at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, Associate Director for Basic Research in the University of Cincinnati Cancer Center, Chief Scientific Officer for Cincinnati Children’s Hospital’s Innovation Ventures and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board at Kurome Therapeutics.

Janet Rowley Award Winner – Nina Cabezas-Wallscheid

The 2023 recipient of the Janet Rowley Award Winner is Dr. Nina Cabezas-Wallscheid. Nina was awarded her Ph.D. in 2010 from the University of Mainz, for her work with Dr. Ernesto Bockamp on the biology of leukemic stem cells in mouse. Subsequently, she completed a post-doctoral stint in the lab of Prof. Andreas Trumpp at the Heidelberg Institute for Stem Cell Technology and Experimental Medicine (HI-STEM): here Dr. Cabezas-Wallscheid made several seminal discoveries on the biology of quiescence and dormancy of hematopoietic stem cells (HSC), cementing a reputation as a world-class scientist able to combine several experimental approaches targeting proteome, transcriptome and methylome. During her permanence in Heidelberg, Dr. Cabezas-Wallscheid revealed the crucial role of dietary vitamin A in maintaining HSC in a dormant state. Since 2017, she has been group leader in Freiburg, at the Max-Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics (MPI-IE). Here, Dr. Cabezas-Wallscheid has been developing her original line of research on HSC dormancy, pursuing projects that mix mouse genetics, human primary samples, and state-of-the-art bioinformatics.

Since 2017, Dr Cabezas-Wallscheid supervised several Ph.D. candidates and master students. Dr. Cabezas-Wallscheid is member of several boards and committees, including the ISEH Board of Directors, the Cell Reports Editorial Board and the Advisory Board for Review Commons. She also organized and chaired several well-known scientific meetings and conferences in the field of hematopoiesis and stem cell biology. Dr. Cabezas-Wallscheid reputation as a rigorous and excellent scientist precede her, and she brilliantly represents the values celebrated by the Janet Rowley award.

Blog post contributed by members of the ISEH Publications Committee:
Alessandro Donada, PhD - @BioRugby
Alyssa Cull, PhD - @AlyssaHCull
Anthony Franchini, PhD 

Please note that the statements made by Simply Blood authors are their own views and not necessarily the views of ISEH. ISEH disclaims any or all liability arising from any author's statements or materials.


Popular posts from this blog

ISEH 2024 Society Award Winners

Lab Spotlight: Laurenti Lab

ISEH 2023 Annual Scientific Meeting – Highlights from the New Investigators Committee